Forums

Earth and Space Science

Gravity

Author Post
Sherilynn Chang Sherilynn Chang 1220 Points

Hello fellow science lovers! I'm teaching fourth grade science in Hawaii and need to cover Earth's gravitational pull as a result of its mass. In the past I've done discussions and note-taking, I know there are videos out there but does anyone have other ways to present or experiment with the concept of gravity and Earth's mass causing the gravitational pull? I haven't finished the scipack for it yet but the first quarter's coming to an end. Let me know if you have any resources or experiments that have worked well for you!

Nohelani Kobayashi Nohelani Kunishige 2060 Points

Hi! I also teach fourth grade and I am doing the scipack for gravity. This is my first year teaching fourth grade, so I haven't really tried this experiment yet. But I am a huge fan of BrainPop. It's an online program that focuses on all subject areas in a kid friendly way. You do need to subscribe to it, but you can also sign up for the free trial. I hope this is something you were looking for... On BrainPop, they have a short video about gravity. On the same page, there are activities and experiments to go along with the video. One of the experiments (which you would need to modify) is to use a mattress, two objects of different weights (bowling ball and a flower pot), and a couple of marbles. You place the two objects apart on the mattress and set a marble in the middle of the two objects. The students will record which direction the marble rolls. Of course, the marble will roll to the heavier object and you can explain that that's how it works in space. When an object is between two planets, the more massive a planet, the stronger the gravitational pull. You would need to modify the lesson to fit the space for your classroom, but this was the best activity that I could find on how to introduce gravitation pull to the students. Hope this helps! Please let me know if you fin anything else!