Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Fun Science Lessons

Elementary Science

Fun Science Lessons

Author Post
Mary Bunker Mary Bunker 180 Points

What are some of the most fun and/or engaging science lessons/experiments you've done in your classroom? What subjects do you think students are most excited to learn, and reversely, are least excited to learn and need a little push with engagement?

Sophia Fernandez Sophia Fernandez 3385 Points

Hi Mary, I am currently studying to be an Elementary School Teacher. I have gotten the opportunity to observe many Science lessons and teach lessons myself, as well. Through my experience, I have noticed that students are most interested in inquiry-based lessons. Students tend to be very hands-on learners and critical thinkers. Lessons that are more student-centered give students the most opportunity to share their ideas and knowledge on the subject matter. However, student-centered does not mean the teacher sits back and do nothing. It is important for the teacher to still be very much involved in the lesson as a facilitator. They can help clear any students' misconceptions, guide conversation toward the right direction, ask higher-order thinking questions, and assess students' knowledge. I recently taught a lesson where students were able to observe the growth of a seed into a plant over a weeks time. Students were so excited to see their plants grow and to see whose plants grew more. This activity also taught students to take care of a plant by giving plants their basic needs, such as water and sunlight. This could be a good activity to engage students in a lesson about plants.

Danielle Cavazos Danielle Cavazos 450 Points