Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Mechanism of plate tectonics

Earth and Space Science

Mechanism of plate tectonics

Author Post
Kristine Haataja Kristine Haataja 160 Points

Hi there! I am a recent graduate with an Earth and Space sciences degree and my current work is in assessment development. I am writing to inquire about current teachers understanding of the mechanism of plate movement. For years and year, convection has been the basic description to explain plate motion. I was even taught that in high school. My professors all will agree that ridge push and slab pull (gravity-related phenomena) are the more likely drivers of this process. From what I gather, convection plays far less of a role--if any. However! The framework for K-12 Sci. Ed. still has understanding convection as the primary HS gradeband expectation for plate tectonics. I plan to do a lot more research, just want to get some thoughts from educators out there. Thanks! :)

Brian Yamamura Brian Yamamura 7410 Points