Forums

Forums / New Teachers / New Teacher Question

New Teachers

New Teacher Question

Author Post
Brad Daniell Brad Daniell 210 Points

Hey guys, I I'll be teaching 8th grade gifted physical science this year. I am in my 2nd year, but first with gifted students. I am thinking of doing a sponge activity and a ticket out the door on a daily basis. Is this too much? I know for sure the sponge activity will be daily, but the ticket out of the door may not be. I am trying to figure out how to grade them. I do not have time everyday to go through 120 submissions, so is there a way to expedite this? How do I put a grade on it? Should I include it in their daily participation grade? Or if they answer it right, maybe some type of extra credit? I need any help possible with this. Thanks!

Kelsey Funkhouser Kelsey Funkhouser 1280 Points

I am future teacher, and I am in my feild experience currently. I was wondering what where to find some good science activities and lessons?

Brittany Wolford Brittany Wolford 1162 Points

You could do a daily exit ticket, but have it count as a participation grade if you have too many to actually read. I also think you could do the exit ticket when it's something they may be tested on or at the end of a unit (like making sure they're meeting a benchmark), and this could be for participation grade, read them all, and use it as an informal assessment. 

Autumn Miller Autumn Miller 640 Points

Daily exit tickets are not bad. I think that they are very helpful, but I would suggest using it as a participation grade or as an informal assessment. I think a KWL chart can also be something to see what they have learned and what they already know about that particular topic. 

Sue Garcia Sue Garcia 42675 Points