Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Integrating Science in the Classroom

Elementary Science

Integrating Science in the Classroom

Author Post
Sammi Toia Sammi Toia 360 Points

I am currently a student teacher and have noticed that science is not a prevalent subject in my 2nd grade classroom. The students are only given science instruction once a week for 1 hour. It has me a bit surprised since I thought it would be a more loaded subject. I know for other subjects, such as social studies, the content is integrated into our reading and math lessons. What are good ways to integrate science concepts in the classroom during other subject times? Any help is appreciated!

Molly Murador-Cobb Molly Murador 1970 Points

Integrating science into language arts and math is as easy as integrating social studies.  You can gather a ton of ideas from the "Picture Perfect Science Lessons" books by Karen Ansberry and Emily Morgan.  There are also some new picture books through NSTA that are great for your language arts lessons.   However, instead of integrating science into ELA and Math...you might consider the opposite.  Using a lesson from "Picture Perfect Science Lessons" create a science lesson and integrate ELA/Math into that lesson.  It is much more authentic.  It allows richer discussion. By doing science, students are using their reading strategies in an authentic situation.  They are seeing how math works in the real world instead of in isolation. You will also notice that students are much more engaged and begin to see how all of the different subjects work together instead of in isolated time frames. Hope this helps a bit.... Centers/Stations are also a great way to incorporate science when low on time.

Amy Specht Amy Specht 4555 Points