Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Science at Home

Early Childhood

Science at Home

Author Post
Ashleigh Duclos Ashleigh Duclos 455 Points

Since there is limited time to teach science during the school day, I wanted to encourage science instruction in the home by means of fun family acitivies. Does anyone have any ideas on how they have been able to get families to participate in science activities at home? What are some easy science experiments/activities families can do that require minimum supplies/materials?

Kyli Bumbray Kyli Bumbray 1708 Points

Hell Ashleigh,

I am a pre-service teacher so I have not had this experience yet but I do know that in most classrooms there is such a small fraction of time that allows for science instruction. I think it is a wonderful idea to try and get science done at home so the students are gaining as much knowledge as they can. I think the best thing to do would be for you to send the activities home with the kids including the directions as well as expereiments. I think this would be the best bet because it might be hard for parents to not only have to do the activities but also be responsible for buying them. One small science activity that could be done is a mini water cycle and the best part is that it can be used/monitered everyday. Just draw a scene on the bag (simple like a sun and cloud) and fill it partially with colored water. Use something to attach it to the window and everyday you can see the water changing (evaporating, freezing, etc.)

I hope this is a start

Lisa Lang Lisa Lang 1703 Points

Candy experiments are fun and easy to do at home. I've done the Sour Candy Color Test with my own kids for a science fair and the judges loved it for its simplicity.  You can use the color in purple cabbage to detect the acid in sour candy (Lemonheads, sweetarts, sour gummies, warheads).