Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Future Teachers

Elementary Science

Future Teachers

Author Post
Mia Leal Mia Leal 620 Points

What is the best way to incorporate science in the classroom for all students and encourage them to want to learn more about this subject? 

Paige Morrison Paige Morrison 395 Points

Hi Mia!

I am Paige Morrison and I am studying Elementary Education at Wartburg College in Iowa. I think that this question is so important to have answered and I think that there's a wide range of answers that can go along with this. The first thing I thought of is to make things hands-on, minds-on. We need to allow students to make connections while doing, instead of simply listening to lectures. Having hands-on experiences can help students form a love of science and develop a deeper understanding of scientific ideas. We also should encourage discussion in the classroom to allow students to hear others' ideas and develop their own perspectives. Allow students to take charge of their learning so that they are developing memorable experiences. I think that giving students choices and showing them the possibilities that are out there can help stimulate interest in the subject as a whole. Students also need to know the 'why' behind the lessons you choose to give. If you guide the students and show them the real-world connections that are being made, they may see the point in learning science and be excited about furthering their connections on the numerous scientific concepts. I hope this helped! 

Kayla Lopez Kayla Lopez 355 Points