Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Getting Students Interested

General Science and Teaching

Getting Students Interested

Author Post
Amber Smith Amber Smith 170 Points

I am currently a student majoring in early childhood education and one of my main concerns when I become a teacher is how to get students interested in the subject of science. When I was a kid, I did not like science. I was homeschooled so I just learned straight from the textbook so I found it difficult and boring. I've never really seen how science is taught in the classroom. With that said, what advice or ideas do you have to get students interested in science and enjoy it as well? 

Mindy Gonzalez Mindy Gonzalez 490 Points

I think the key to engaging students in a science classroom is to let them experience what they are being taught. As a teacher, it is important to give students many reasons as to why science is interesting, important, and worth their time to learn and understand. With that being said, give real life examples and situations that pertain to the particular topic they are learning. Engage the students with hands on activities that will make them want to learn more and question the material. After all, a major aspect of science is learning through investigation. Give useful but fun facts that they will always remember to coincide with some of the dry, less exciting material. Some textbook learning is still a good resource to have, for some students learning abilities flourish with that particular learning tool. Provide as many approaches as possible to ensure all the children have the capability to grasp the content. Integrating technology helps also. Students who are interested in technology (which is the new favorite) will tend to accept the science content if they can use technology while doing so.

Catherine Teed Catherine Teed 270 Points