Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Good Communication with Students and Parents

New Teachers

Good Communication with Students and Parents

Author Post
Yaritza Garza Yaritza Garza 150 Points

Hello, I am on the road to becoming an elementary teacher. I would like to know ways to have good communication with my students, for them to feel free to tell me whenever they are going through something. Also, I want for parents to have the confidence to tell me whenever they don't agree with a decision I made or if they are going through a difficult situation. 

Rubycela Lopez Rubycela Lopez 170 Points

As a mom and future elementary teacher I believe I will focus on having a great communication with the parents. When I have met the teachers I have let them know that I am here and I provide them with my personal number and email. Now in days teachers use apps to communicate with the parents and share fun activities they do in classroom. I am not an expert yet but letting the students know that as teacher you are their for them. 

Abby Taplar Abby Taplar 185 Points

As a future elementary teacher I want to establish open lines of communication with my administration, peers, students and parents.  My question is however, how do I ensure these lines of communication are effective and we are all communicating in a respectful and appropriate manner.  What techniques can I adapt into both my public speaking skills and social intraction skills that will help promote this?  

Elizabeth Inselmann Elizabeth Inselmann 1395 Points

As a future teacher myself, I have some of the same concerns parents are busy how do you know when you have over-communicated to a parent? I do not want to overwhelm or annoy them.

All the best, 

Lizzy Inselmann

Lori Norwood Lori Norwood 11126 Points