Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / No Science in the Classroom

Elementary Science

No Science in the Classroom

Author Post

Hi, I am currently a student teacher in a sixth grade classroom in Southern San Diego. One of the biggest disappointments I had this year was the fact that my students do not get science or social studies instruction. While there is an attempt to incorporate social studies/historical content into literacy instruction, I have noticed that science is completely disregarded. I have walked into other classrooms (lower grade) at the school and I have seen clear indication that there is science in the classroom. I have spoken to many fellow student teachers and many have agreed that their students get little to no science instruction. I am wondering why this and if it is common among other districts. Thanks, Jessica :)

Brandon Ishikata Brandon Ishikata 330 Points

Jessica, I am a student teacher too and have the same situation. At my school, we have a lot of English Language Learners and many teachers believe that we need to focus on the English first then Science second. In my program, I've learned that science is actually an effective and meaningful subject for elementary students to be engaged in. It is very hands on and gives students a chance to explore.

Rebeca Corona Rebeca Corona 3010 Points