Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Enriching my students science learning

Elementary Science

Enriching my students science learning

Author Post
Melissa Hersted Melissa Hersted 950 Points

I am a third grade teacher looking to refresh my lessons. I would love to hear from anyone who has resources, ideas, and lessons so that I can update what I have been doing over the last 12 years. I cover the following topics in the school year: ecosystems and animal adaptations, sun, moon, and earth, chemistry, and sound.

Kathy Renfrew Kathleen Renfrew 37148 Points

Melissa,

Have you looked at the Next Generation Science Standards? That would be a great place to begin. NSTA has an awesome site which lays out the standards in an understandable way for elementary teachers. NGSS@NSTAOnce here , click on The Standards and you will see the standards arranged by topic.

So when I look at the 3rd grade standards, I see Interdependent Relationships in Ecosystems. Yea! There is a match.

So, now I am wondering what your unit looks like? Are your students doing any of the components the standard is expecting: construct an argument, analyze and interpret data...?

One thought might be to include teaching students how build an explanation that could be used in constructing an argument on the groups animals form to survive.

Kathy

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

Wow, you have come to the right sources to find hundreds of ideas. Just put any of your topics in the Advanced Search http://learningcenter.nsta.org/search.aspx for the Learning Center to find LOTS of ideas. The Children and Science journal by NSTA is the elementary journal.

Kristen Kangas Kristen Kangas 140 Points