Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Assessing Inquiry Without Checking Notebooks

Evaluation and Assessment

Assessing Inquiry Without Checking Notebooks

Author Post
Jason Garner Jason Garner 175 Points

I am a fifth grade teacher. My students use science notebooks (I'm no expert with these either) to record observations, sketches, questions, etc. However, I teach three other subjects as well and have two classes for science. It is too time consuming to go through 48 science notebooks each day/every other day to assign points/grades for their partcipation/effort on inquiry-type activities. For example, yesterday we were observing the phenomena of a balloon inflating on top of an empty soda bottle when squeezed and moving a drop of water with a toothpick (anchor phenomena for matter and particles). However, Monday we will be doing our next lesson and I will not have time to go through their notebooks. We will be conducting another (guided) investigation about the three states of matter. I would rather have them record observations/questions in their notebooks instead of a sheet of paper because of organization, etc. However, I would like to find some simple way to have them share their learning with me (individually) or their observations. I am wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this? Thank you.

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

Hello Jason,

I forget who first said this but I have used this quote often: “School should not be a place where young people go to watch old people work.”

There is nothing that requires you to correct and grade everything a student does.  In fact, marking everything is not good – because a learner’s early mistakes and errors are now incorporated into their grade.  Giving formative feedback is necessary, but there are some strategies to help you reduce the workload while not diminishing the learning that is taking place.