Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Science and Literacy

Elementary Science

Science and Literacy

Author Post
Elena Blanco Elena Blanco 190 Points

Hello! I am a student in the education program at my University.  I have been assigned to teach a science lesson to 4th graders, but my mentor teacher has asked me to also make this lesson a literacy lesson. How do I combine these two subjects in such a way that science and literature are recognizable, but blended? 

Marina Fountain Marina Fountain 190 Points

Hey Elena, I am also currently brainstorming how to integrate science and literacy for our upcoming lesson. I too would like additional feedback, so other teachers or pre-service teachers please feel free to correct me or give better ideas. Initially I thought I would introduce a science topic with the use of a children's book and expand upon those ideas with activities and discussions. I have yet to been given a topic from my mentor teacher, but I am exploring different fourth grade science standards.  Good luck, Marina

Tara Miller Tara Miller 290 Points