Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Introducing the A to STEM

General Science and Teaching

Introducing the A to STEM

This topic discusses these resources

Author Post
Natalie Smith Natalie Smith 310 Points

Arts are very important to our student's curriculm. I really enjoyed reading about this experiement that the students did because I can think back to when I have done very similar experiments. I would have loved it if while I was trying to draw what I saw in the microscope, if the teacher had talked about perspective like this teacher had. I hope the arts continues to be put back into classrooms instead of being cut.

Sidney Baumgartner Sidney Baumgartner 335 Points

Hello Natalie,

I also agree that adding the “A” to STEM is very important. As a preservice teacher, I think student’s creativity and uniqueness is very important to their learning. I took a class that helped introduced ways to include both music and art into our daily lessons or units. It was very fun and easy to do so.

I am also a huge believer in brining agriculture into the classroom too, since agriculture is around us no matter where we are located. I would love to share more about an agriculture system that fits well into classrooms and can be used for cross-curricular lesson plans, units, or semester/yearlong projects. I think the “A” can stand for both art and agriculture. STEAM will be impactful for the future generations. Thanks for sharing!

Elizabeth Ricke Elizabeth Ricke 343 Points

As a pre-service teacher I found this very interesting! I love the idea of adding the A to STEM as I believe the Arts are very important. I love that arts are being incorrporated into STEAM as art is something that some students truly connect with. I would love to hear any ideas or advice on how to incorporate STEAM into the classroom. Thanks for sharing! 

Kaydee Sparks Kaydee Sparks 1031 Points