Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Making science fun

New Teachers

Making science fun

Author Post
Sarah Pack Sarah Pack 254 Points

How does a new teacher make science fun for students who hate science? I have come across a few students who have expressed to me when I ask them why they aren't participating or turning in work that is below of what they actually know, they tell me it's because they hate science. I like to do labs in the class, but you can only do so many labs before the students become exhausted in your classroom. What can I do differently to engage those students and get them excited about the class? 

Josie Asklund Josie Asklund 2755 Points

Sarah, I am a preservice teacher at the University of Northern Iowa, and I am also always trying to make science more engaging for students. This semester I had multiple opportunities to teach science; I taught lessons in Kindergarten, 5th grade, and 3rd grade. In my third grade classroom, I worked with the curriculum AmplifyScience. It is relatively new and expensive, so many schools have not adopted it yet, but something that I like about it that you could incorportate into your own science lessons is that it actually is very student driven. There is a teacher-directed side where you give the students the focus questions and unit topics, but a lot of the research and inquiry aspects of this curriculum rely heavily on student questioning. The students can ask their own questions and search for data to support their claims, which makes them more engaged in what they are doing. Analyzing documents and data and doing think pair share works well too because students can work with others and then have class discussions about what they would like to explore or a conjecture they might have about the current focus question. 

Camillia Ledbetter Camillia Ledbetter 960 Points

Sarah,