Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Keeping the students engaged

Early Childhood

Keeping the students engaged

Author Post
Rebecca Torres Rebecca Torres 430 Points

Hello everyone, I am a student at UTRGV in the education program. I am currently learning many ways to help students stay engaged in any subject. Although I am unsure when it comes to teaching science. It was one of my favorite subjects as a high school student, but I don't remember much about elementary. how do you keep the fun in science for yourself, and for your students? What do you do to keep the students engaged in your class?

Noemi Salas Noemi Salas 390 Points

Hello Rebecca, keeping students engaged can sometimes be considered difficult because every student has a different attention span and or interested in different things but younger children usually tend to gravitate towards colorful illustrative content so even with science implementing fun colorful videos can be a perfect way to engage the students.

Perla Marroquin Perla Marroquin 300 Points

Hi Rebecca, science is an engaging subject especially for elementary students. There are a lot of hands-on activities that an educator can bring into the classroom in order to keep the students engaged. I like to think of it as if the educator is a 'Science wizzard' and they come up with activities to conclude the lesson that they will be covering.

Ana Cobarrubias Ana Cobarrubias 95 Points

Hello Rebecca, keeping students engaged might have seemed difficult since many students learn in many different ways. I would say showing them experiments and having them do hands on activities to keep them engaged.

Tania Correa Tania Correa 105 Points