Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Solar System activités

Early Childhood

Solar System activités

Author Post
Savannah Franklin Savannah Franklin 160 Points

Hello Everyone, I am a pre-service teacher and am looking for some new ways to teach young children about the different planets in our solar system. I have been researching different lesson plans but haven't found any I think would be hands-on and engaging for young children. Any suggestions? I would really appreciate the help. Thanks

ANA BARNES ANA BARNES 970 Points

Hi Savannah,  I found this great engaging activity for your students to do to create the solar system.  I hope this helps ! http://creeksidelearning.com/make-solar-system-model

Christian Reed Christian 210 Points

I found a great activity to do with Kindergarteners that teaches them about the different phases of the moon. It can be found at http://analyzer.depaul.edu/paperplate/Oreo%20Moon%20Phases.htm and it uses Oreos and icing to represent the moon's different phases. It is a fun and tastey activity for the students to learn about science!

Rebecca Cabello Rebecca Cabello 1935 Points

This resource would be great!

Chelsea Duncan Chelsea Duncan 1570 Points

This resource would be great and sounds very engaging for students! 

Stephanie Bardina STEPHANIE BARDINA 505 Points

I saw this activity at a PD workshop I attended and I loved it! I haven't implemented it yet but I agree it is fun and tasty!

Stephanie Romano Stephanie Romano 1345 Points

I am a preservice teacher as well! In class, we have discussed a lot of fun ways to get students engaged in the solar system. We used toilet paper and drew out the planets and their distance. This may be a little advanced for your students but it was fun activity for them to actually see how far the planets are from one another. 

George Mehler George Mehler 1575 Points