Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Making Time

Early Childhood

Making Time

Author Post
Sara Gordon Sara Gordon 170 Points

What are some tips on how to incorporate science in the classroom as much as possible with a limited amount of time available each week?

Almira Bhojwani Almira Bhojwani 480 Points

I am student teaching in a 5th grade ELA, Reading, and Social Studies classroom. I know that the science teacher does not always have time to incorporate science as much as she would like. For this reason, I try to find science related reading comprehension passages, that way the student will get to read about science but will also get to use reading strategies. I use this same strategies with Social Studies as well.

Taylor Charlton Taylor Charlton 535 Points

Hi Sara, I am currently a student teacher in a kindergarten classroom, and I definitely have noticed the struggle that the teachers I have observed have making time for incorporating a science lesson. My mentor teacher this semester typical will incorporate a fun brainpop video over the lesson, and then together as a class she will have the students complete a little booklet with pictures and limited fill in the blank spaces. Once completed the students glue it into their science journal. Typically a lesson like this takes 15-20 mins, and it's memorable for the students as well.

Ashton Childree Ashton Childree 200 Points

Sara, I am currently a preservice teacher and I am getting an endorsement in STEM. I think if you are struggling to make time to teach science then a great way to get incorporate more science curriculum is too integrate it into other disciplines. There are many lessons online that incorporate literacy connections into design challenges. If you can create or find some engaging design challenges based off the literature your students are already reading, it will successfully bring more science content into your classroom.

Heather Rochester Heather Rochester 250 Points