Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / What are your favorite ways to assess students in the science classroom?

Evaluation and Assessment

What are your favorite ways to assess students in the science classroom?

Author Post
McKenna Keener McKenna Keener 1505 Points

Hello! I am a pre-service teacher in the undergraduate program at the College of Charleston. Last week in my science education course we evaluated different assessment instruments that were created by teachers for use in their classrooms. As we evaluated them, I was wondering what other ways besides quizzes, tests, and worksheets that teachers like to use to assess their students in the science classroom. What ways are effective for you to gather data about students that accurately reflect their learning in the unit? 

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5215 Points

Presentations, research (literature review), infographic creation, video/blog/podcast production, etc. 

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10180 Points

Hi McKenna! Quizzes, tests, and worksheets are designed to assess content learning objectives. I also liked to use observational checklists to monitor student skills. For example, as they were doing a hands-on actitvity, I could assess whether they were following safety guidelines, working as a team, using equipment such as balances or microscopes effectively, etc. It's hard to turn a checklist into a letter or numerical grade, but the lists give you insight into how students are not just learning about skills but actually using them. This evolved from my preservice methods class where we had to design a nonwritten student assessment! -- Mary B

Lisa Lang Lisa Lang 1693 Points

A Formative Assessment Probe can be used as you teach a lesson to determine where your students are in terms of understanding.