Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Classroom Management

Elementary Science

Classroom Management

Author Post
Tatyanna Camacho Tatyanna Camacho 350 Points

Hello, I am currently a student pursing my bachelor's degree in Elementary Education. Are there any skills or tips on classroom management you would give to a first time teacher? Have those skills or tips been effective? 

Madison Hiestand Madison Hiestand 350 Points

Tatyanna,

Classroom management is so important in the elementary schools and it helps to build relathionships with the students as well. I am a preservice teacher that will be student teaching in the fall of 2020. In all of my education classess we discuss different methods, ways, and ideas of classroom management that is relevant to all different teaching styles. 

When diving into classroom managemnet it is so important that you start it from the beginning. Do not wait weeks to implement classroom mangament because students will have a hard time adjusting. If students are aware of the expectations and the structure of the class from the start of the year there are no questions becuase they know what is expected of them. 

Another idea that I plan on implementing into my classroom when it comes to rules and expectations is that my students are apart of the conversation. I do not want to tell them what I want them to do, I want them to come up with expectations for themselves and classmates that are to be followed by everyone in the class. Along with this, I will have my students discuss the consequences that will arise if the expectations and rules are not met. This holds students accountable for their own actions and that way they do not have any questions about the expectations or rules. This method gives students ownership and voice in the classroom. As educators we will guide them into the right directions in this discussion but this gives the class a sense of community from the beginning.