Forums

Forums / Pre-service Teachers / Classroom Management

Pre-service Teachers

Classroom Management

Author Post
Rhamey Floyd Rhamey Floyd 480 Points

Hey ya'll! My name is Rhamey Floyd, and I am currently in my junior year of college. I am majoring in Elementary Education, and I student teach semester after next. As I have taught my lessons in the past, I have struggled with effective classroom management. I have a hard time keeping students on task and keeping them from getting too loud when they are doing group work/fun activities. I want to be able to do activities and let my students have fun whenever I am in a classroom of my own, but I have a hard time even considering it because it feels like the students get out of control in the first five minutes. It is discoruaging when you work so hard on a lesson and want it to be enjoyable for them, but they get out of control and it seems like they get nothing out of it. I need some advice on what I should do or some things I should implement that would maybe help with these issues. I hope I am not alone in feeling this way. Thanks so much. 

Jc Miller Jc Miller 235 Points