Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Gender Differences in Science

Elementary Science

Gender Differences in Science

Author Post
Mary Hill Mary Hill 160 Points

I am a preservice teacher that has to give a lesson in a 2nd grade science classroom. Are there any misconceptions that students have that might guide my lesson plan? I want to be able to incorporate science lessons that both boys and girls will be interested and engaged in, so are there any previous lessons you've taught that maybe create a divide among genders in your classroom? Also, this will be my first time giving a lesson to a group of children. Do you have any suggestions on how to present information and keep the children engaged?

Alisa Kunhavijit Alisa Kunhavijit 2600 Points

Hi Mary, It must be exciting preparing to teach your first lesson to students! It is scary at first but you become more comfortable and natural with it the more practice you get! I think one great way to engage all the students, both boys and girls, is to make the science/topic meaningful to them. If it is something that does not apply to their lives or matter, it will most likely end in them not being engaged. Today, I saw a water cycle lesson being taught and the students were not that engaged because they did not see how it directly impacted their lives. One of the biggest things to do while teaching a lesson is to make sure it is meaningful because then the students have a reason to care and be interested. Definitely hands-on activities keep them the most engaged and are more fun. Doing lessons with food is always a hit because kids love to play with food but also the topic can be related to something that is in their every day life. I hope this helps and good luck on your teaching! As long as you have fun and teach things that will be meaningful to the students, they will be excited and engaged! Best, Alisa Kunhavijit

Kelsi Wiechkoske Kelsi Wiechkoske 1685 Points