Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Science Classroom Safety

General Science and Teaching

Science Classroom Safety

Author Post
Heather Harkless Heather Harkless 385 Points

I recently read the following two journal articles:
Scope on Safety: Don't Bench Lab Safety
Scope on Safety: When is a classroom a laboratory?

Any location where science is being taught is considered a laboratory. Both of these journal articles were very informative and provided wonderful safety tips. These journals would be very helpful when creating a classroom safety plan and when evaluating the safety of all the materials present within the room. As a student teacher, I know that these articles will be very helpful to me when I have my own classroom.

Allison Gandrup Allison Gandrup 3800 Points

I think it is always important to warn students about safety, especially if it is something that they do not usually deal with. This is something that can teach the students vocabulary, and help them gain common knowledge within the laboratory. Great resources!

Kia Shields Kia Shields 3432 Points

Hi! I agree that teachers should create a classroom lab rules for students. Students need to know the expectations when working in the lab. It is important for all students to enjoy science experiments but safety is number one. I am also a student teacher and I plan on creating a lab safety contract for both my students and their parents to sign. I would send this document home during the first week of school. The contract will explain all of the lab rules students need to abide by. Parents should be informed of what the rules of the lab are too.

Brenda Velasco Mizenko Brenda Velasco 2695 Points

Great resources! Thank you so much for sharing. I always make sure my students know their science tools and safety procedures before we ever begin a lesson. It gives a good sense of responsibility and understanding of how to properly use science tools and materials.