Forums

Forums / Distance Learning / Distance Learning Student Participation

Distance Learning

Distance Learning Student Participation

Author Post
Hannah Happ Hannah Happ 310 Points

Hello! My name is Hannah and I am a pre-service secondary science teacher. Since being somewhat remote since March in my classes I have seen it be very difficult to get student participation. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas or tips for student participation for distanced learning. How can I substitute a student getting out of their seat and writing on the board into a virtual setting? Anything helps! 

Natalie Nieves Natalie Nieves 580 Points

Hello Hannah, I believe that a great way to substitute a student getting out of their seat and writing on the board into a virtual setting would be to use https://whiteboard.fi as a resource in your virtual classroom. I do believe that students do get a bit restless while in remote learning environments because they are in a comfortable place where they are usually free to do as they please. I recommend little 3 minute stretch breaks, maybe 1 per 1-2 hours of instruction, so the students can get out of their seats and come back to the lesson refreshed, energized and ready to learn.

Karina De La Rosa Karina De La Rosa 405 Points

Hello Hannah, 

This is a struggle I feel that a lot of teacher's are having with distance learning. The most important thing to do in a class when teaching in the distance learning setting is to keep the students engaged. It is very easy for students to get distracted. One way have students participate is by using Kahoot. Kahoot is an online platform that students can use from home, and I find that many students love to participate while using Kahoot. It is also a great way to assess students, keep them engaged, and have them participate. 

Valeria Deng Valeria Deng 610 Points