Forums

Forums / Distance Learning / How can I make hands-on activities fun during distance learning.

Distance Learning

How can I make hands-on activities fun during distance learning.

Author Post
Emily Hernandez Emily Hernandez 380 Points

Hello, my name is Emily and I am a student at The University of Rio Grande Valley. I know that as a student and future educator hands-on activities are essential during the class time since some students are bodily-kinesthetic learners. I currently work as a daycare teacher and see how students need hands-on activities to remember or help in their distance learning. When I was in school it was fun working with math and using items to solve the problems. Foldables to write the notes helped me memorize the steps easier. I wanted to ask how can we include these foldable and hands-on activities during online learning without the students getting frustrated and rather have fun. 

Katherine Alvarez Katherine Alvarez 1120 Points

Hi Emily! I observed many early childhood classrooms during my undergrad semester and learned that using the childrens' interests can make the foldables fun. Most of the children enjoyed coloring and painting, so the teachers often allowed them to make their foldables colorful and full of graphics.

If students are virtual learners, they can do this online by using Kami. Kami is the world's #1 digital classroom tool that is free to use and allows teachers to make learning fun and interactive. 

Abrianna Moore Abrianna Moore 635 Points

Hello Emily!