Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Including science concepts in math and reading subjects

Elementary Science

Including science concepts in math and reading subjects

Author Post
Julissa Ramos Julissa Ramos 765 Points

I am a student at FIU and one of the requirements for me to graduate is that I complete clinical hours at selective elementary schools. From my observations I notice that the subject science is barely ever touched in a week frame. Teachers and their classes could go through a whole school day and not participate in science lessons. They mostly base their instruction on the reading and math subjects, especially during state standardized testing time. Although I feel that a balance needs to be found between core subjects like reading and math mixed with science. I recognize that there is not so many hours in a day to teach the children everything they need to know and that there may be other obstacles but if teachers created more lesson that involve a little from every subject, then the student could acquire a lot of knowledge. For example a reading lesson could be on a science concept, in which the students practice reading skills and learn about a science concept. What do you think? Could you give me strategies on how to do this?

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Julissa!
Each month in NSTA's Science and Children, there is a column Teaching with Trade Books. The article includes suggestions using two books (K-2 and 3-5) and science lessons on the topics -- all ready to use. The lessons use the 5E Framework and include their alignment with NGSS. For example, here is the latest Beneath Our Feet. You can search the Journal archives for more lessons. Even if you don't have the exact book, the lessons can apply to others on the same topic.
Mary B

Colleen Hines Colleen Hines 925 Points

Hello!