Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Incorporating Labs

New Teachers

Incorporating Labs

Author Post
Devon Heldenbrand Devon Heldenbrand 450 Points

Hello everyone,

I am a preservice biology teacher and was hoping to get some insight on labs.  What are some of your favorite labs that you have done with your class and what made them a success?  How much of your curriculum do you typically devote to labs?  How do you typically assess labs (i.e. a worksheet, a lab report, or a display)?

Thank you for any and all insight and advice!

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

Hello Devon,

The labs you perform depend on the grade level and the topics you teach but you can modify many hands-on activities to fit almost any grade. I believe biology becomes much more intriguing for students by incorporating as many labs as possible. 

Not all labs require formal lab reports or quantitative analysis.  Exploring slides through a microscope or recording observations of living organisms can all be considered “labs”. I feel it is good to vary your assessments to suit the activity. Quick observation labs may be followed up with worksheets.  Long-term projects like growing plants are well-suited to journaling.  I preferred paragraph answers that fostered higher-order thinking skills and promoted literacy, challenged students to sum up observations, make conclusions or connect topics.  It is also reduced copying! Presentations are also good assessments.

My favourites hands-on biology activities are:

DNA Extraction:

Students isolate DNA from crushed strawberries. The students were awed by the length and amount of DNA. Simple, easy to get supplies.  

Pop bottle ecosystem:

A long-term project in which students create enclosed terraria and observe them over weeks.  I have a collection of resources in the Learning Center you can use:  http://bit.ly/PopBottleEcosystems

Living organisms: