Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Integrating Science & Writing

Elementary Science

Integrating Science & Writing

Author Post
Carina Alcantara Carina Alcantara 465 Points

Hi everyone! Last week I presented a lesson to my class where I integrated science and writing. I am currently a student teacher in a writing only class, where we have been going over compound sentences. To be honest, I found integrating science and writing very challenging. I did not want my lesson to be mostly science because I am in a writing only class. I didn't want my students to get confused. I know that my students, just finished the weather unit in their science class. That's when the bright idea of creating a weather report using compound sentences came to mind!

I would love to hear other ideas on how any of you would integrate science and writing! Please share your lesson ideas! 

Patricia Ten Hoeve Patricia ten Hoeve 80 Points

Hi Carina,
I am a pre-service teacher from Wartburg College. In my science methods course, we talk a lot about cross-curricular lessons and I think it is a great idea to incorporate science into your writing class. I like your idea of the weather report, and you could always try to tie what you are writing in with what they are doing in science.

However, you could also take a different approach and talk about science-related topics in your writing class and then do an activity with whatever topic you wanted to focus on. For example, you could talk about the National Parks and then have your students write about which park they would choose to visit and why, which that topic could also tie into social studies. I think your possibilities are endless!

Patricia ten Hoeve
Wartburg College '20

Makayla Bauer Makayla Bauer 2515 Points

Carina,