Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Engaging First Day of School Chemistry Activities or Labs

Chemistry

Engaging First Day of School Chemistry Activities or Labs

Author Post
Rachel Hill Rachel Zeigler 2415 Points

I am a preservice chemistry teacher currently in student teaching. I was wondering if anyone wanted to share any activities or labs that they use during the first few days of school to really grab the students attention and make them wonder about all of the amazing chemistry they will learn in the upcoming year! Thanks!

Jacki Kyle Jacki Kyle 20 Points

Flinn chem fax The red plague is a great activity involves contamination and safety.

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

Folks have shared some fun ideas for the first day! I wanted to share a Point of View written in 2013 that discusses the importance of making an impression on the first day. 

https://common.nsta.org/resource/default?id=10.2505%2f4%2fjcst13_043_01_12

Cristina Welch Cristina Welch 410 Points

• teacher demos - acid on an old sock, acid on an eyeball (local butcher shop), contrast the difference between a bobby pin in a flame and a strip of magnesium in a flame (dont set the smoke detectors off!)
  • student labs - rainbow solution density mystery (yes, it's middle school like, but it works for the first day of school to get high schoolers thinking), kinetics temperature lab with alka-seltzer tablets (simple, hypothesis, data collection in tables and graphs, conclusion, etc)

~Cristina

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Rachel,
There is a discussion thread titled, 'Chemistry Animations, Games,and Simulations' that might have some ideas for you. I personally like to use discrepant events to engage the students right away. There are several chemistry ones to choose from depending on what unit you will be studying first. Steve Spangler's website shares several.
Carolyn

Rebecca Falin Rebecca Falin 71530 Points