Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Classroom management during a science experiment

General Science and Teaching

Classroom management during a science experiment

Author Post

I’m currently studying to become a future elementary teacher. What specific classroom management skills would you recommend using as the students complete a science experiment? Any recommendations? Thanks.

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

When I taught high school, my only classroom rule was 'Support Learning'. It is all-encompassing. It also made an easy reference - I could query a student who needed some management 'How could you better support learning with your behavior/words/etc. right now?'. It also is broad enough that I can assert behavior modification to support learning of others in the class. (We've all had a student who can be having a conversation with a classmate, texting a friend, and acing a test at the same time.)

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Lianne!  I'm assuming that by 'experiment' you mean any kind of hands-on investigation in science. I would definitely be sure to plan for enough time for students to not only complete the activity, but also time for them to summarize their procedures, organize and reflect on their results, and communicate their findings. Otherwise students may view the activity as just another fun thing to do, rather than as an interesting learning experience that is part of your unit of instruction. This time also allows students to settle down and transition to the next subject or class. 

You will also need to build in time for students to clean up and put materials away. Again, having procedures in place can streamline this. For example, to save time accessing and returning materials, I used numbered trays for each group with necessary materials and a list of the items to help students inventory and return them. -- Mary B 

Brandon Ramirez Brandon Ramirez 685 Points

Mary,