Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / SPED Science

Elementary Science

SPED Science

Author Post
Regina Rios Regina Rios 390 Points

Hello my name is Regina Rios and I am currently a student at UTRGV. My major is education for special ed students. Since I will be teaching all subjects at an elementary level, I was wondering how can I help my sped students in order for me to deliver a science lesson? What kind of hands on activities can I do? or what accomedations would be recomendable?

Matt Bobrowsky Matt Bobrowsky 6410 Points

Have you looked at the Phenomenon-Based Learning (PBL) activities in NSTA's 'Gadgets and Gizmos' books?  Here is a link to the elementary version:
http://www.nsta.org/store/product_detail.aspx?id=10.2505/9781936959389
The PBL approach will work great with sped students.

Richard Lahti Richard Lahti 3100 Points

In some ways, accommodations are the wrong way to think about things and very outdated. The notion of accommodations starts with the idea that you are teaching in a very elitist, ableist, racist, and/or sexist manner and then need to make intentional changes to make it suck less for everyone else.
Read up on inquiry (5E learning cycle, etc. There are a number of great collections in NSTA learning center on this)- there is plenty of lit suggesting that this approach can be better of just about any group you name, from SPED to ELL to minorities to girls because:
1. It builds from direct experiences first (so you are not relying on whether or not your students have lived a life where they have experienced something which might privilege one group over another) you start by giving them the direct experience in the Explore phase.