Vernier Science Education - June 2024

Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Teaching Science with Less Abstraction

General Science and Teaching

Teaching Science with Less Abstraction

Author Post
Ryan Aguirre Ryan Aguirre 30 Points

Hello everyone! 

I've been teaching science for around three years. Since then,  I've been observing my students while taking on my subject. I came to observed that, they see science as an abstract subject which they couldn't imagine. Can you give me some tips on making my students appreciate the lessons more with limited time and resources. Any suggestion is highly appreciated  and would be a great help in improving my craft as a teacher. Thank you in advance. :)

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

I think the way to teach science with less abstraction is to ground your lessons around observable phenomena.  Students build up knowledge and understanding by examining and investigating commonplace events. These do not have to be expensive demonstrations - just simple, everyday observations, pictures or videos.  There are many websites that provide these phenomenon and storylines to make just such learning happen.  The NSTA Learning Center and NGSS Hub are excellent places to search for these.  An example that I found: A time-lapse video of tree shadows moving during the day can be a springboard to investigating the motion of planets.  Case studies are similar to using phenomenon-based teaching and there are many websites that provide examples of these to use in science classrooms. http://sciencecases.lib.buffalo.edu/cs/ is a good start. 

Inquiry projects in which students have choice or can select their own topic are another way for students to dive into a concept and demystify it for themselves.  They will take ownership for their learning and make it much more meaningful to them.