Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Computers in the Classroom

Elementary Science

Computers in the Classroom

Author Post
Rachel Webber Rachel Webber 255 Points

Hi friends, I've been wondering: How do elementary educators use computers in the classroom or libraries for science lessons? How often do you use computers? Are there other ways you engage your classroom with web resources? I checked out these great ideas about websites for students: http://learningcenter.nsta.org/discuss/default.aspx?tid=GHuCZrrxjj8_E#66635 Are there any kinds of websites you wish existed for students that don't exist already? What would be on your wishlist for a science website that would be most useful for your classroom? Thanks. 

Autumn Morrison Autumn Morrison 735 Points

Hey Rachel,

I am a pre-service teacher, my placement is in the first grade, and I find that my mentor teacher uses the computer a lot in our science lessons. The computers are often used to show videos and pictures that the county provided or recommended be shown. The videos are not just for lessons but also used as extensions so that students who have grasped the material can learn more and students who are struggling can still learn the material or have what is being taught reinforced. There are a lot of great videos on youtube about a variety of topics that are catered to students. Also you should try asking other teachers what videos or websites they have used or see if the county has recommendations. Overall I think the use of the computer is very useful in the classroom. Even at a young age most of my students are very familiar with the computer and outside of the classroom they learn a lot of information through the computer. I find using a medium that they are used to helps gain interest and makes the students receptive to the information the teacher is trying to teach them. In addition, just from personal experiences I find that using the computer in the classroom to be beneficial especially when runni