Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Misconceptions in the Elementary Classroom

Elementary Science

Misconceptions in the Elementary Classroom

Author Post
Kathleen Chachich Kathleen Chachich 2825 Points

This is definitely a point that we must make sure that we take care of misconceptions. I think it is important to find out what students know and think so we can figure out misconceptions. Pre-tests (informal or formal) are good ways to know what students know. I think it is important that educators do not make the students feel stupid or foolish for having misconceptions. We must find a way to make sure that students understand the correct science but not discourage them.

Kimberly Grossman Kimberly Grossman 1050 Points

"How do you as a classroom teacher handle student misconceptions so correct science is understood?" This is a great question that I, myself, have been thinking about. I am a student-teacher this year and am trying to learn how to interact with children. My mentor-teacher loves to have students participate even if they mention misconceptions or answer incorrectly. He views this as an opportunity to acknowledge what misconceptions were made and follows this by starting an interactive class discussion. If a student mentions a misconception during science, then other students may be thinking the same thing. It is vital that this be addressed and not ignored. Students need to know that their thoughts and answers are valued, even if they are incorrect. If I were to strongly ignore a student's incorrect remark or scold them for their incorrect thinking that student may not want to risk sharing his or her thoughts again for fear of being wrong. I would bring a student's misconception up to the class. Also, I would see what other students felt about this. This could be an amazing opportunity for a classroom of children to work together to understand why a particular misconception is a misconception. Students may know more than we think. If we allow stude