Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Student Teachers and Science

General Science and Teaching

Student Teachers and Science

Author Post
BRITTANY CAMPBELL Brittany Campbell 2050 Points

I am currently a college student who is in the field one day at week with a group of 3rd graders. I have been with them for about 5 weeks now and have yet to see any science brought into the classroom. It just blows my mind away. I am currently working on a lesson plan I have to teach to the students that will be integrated math and science and I'm a little worried it may not go as well as planned because they haven't been exposed to science at all.Any tips/ideas out there for student teachers on what activities went will, what didn't go well? Thanks!

Bethaney Jones Bethaney Jones 820 Points

I am also in a third-grade classroom and I notice the same thing. Science is like an afterthought since it is not highly tested. My students often say they wish we did science more. I think you should do you best to incorporate science but be sure to discuss it with your teacher.

Brandon Ishikata Brandon Ishikata 330 Points

Brittany, I did a weather lesson with the students and they enjoyed going outside, playing with the thermometers, and seeing a time lapse video of weather. When I lecture at them for too long, they tend to get sqwirmy. Since I have a lot of ELL students in my class, one way I assessed them was through drawing pictures. This gave me the most insight about their science knowledge and they found it fun at the same time.

Edith Heppe Edith Heppe 405 Points