Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / How often do you teach science?

Elementary Science

How often do you teach science?

Author Post
Lauren Bridgeman Lauren Bridgeman 600 Points

Hi, everyone, I was wondering how often everyone teaches science in their classrooms? I know many school districts vary on whether they require science to be taught or not, so if it is not required, are you still incorporating it into your week? Thanks!

Courtney Lucca Courtney Lucca 620 Points

I am a student teacher in San Diego, and at my current school we teach science or social studies on Wednesdays. We usually choose to teach science, so that turns out to be about 1 hour per week for science instruction. If it were up to me, however, it would be more often. :)

Angie Kennedy Angie Kennedy 1055 Points

As a fourth grade teacher, I teach one week of science for one hour a day for four days and then teach one week of ss for that same time period.

Stacy Wilson Stacy Wilson 1085 Points

We are being told that starting next year science will be added to the curriculum. Up until now, we have integrated science through our reading stories. We also use the OERB program in Oklahoma to teach about energy resources.

Chelsea Hunt Chelsea Hunt 780 Points

Hello Lauren, I see I am a little late in responding, however I just signed up, so I thought I would weigh in! I teach in North Dakota, this year my schedule was I little screwed up and I was only able to teach science 3-4 times a week for about 30 minutes. However after discussing the issue with my principal I am hoping that is not the case for this up coming year!

Rebekah Campbell Rebekah Campbell 2810 Points

We teach science for about 30-40 min per day, but it seems like my math lessons always bleed over into science time. We try to integrate content learning of science and social studies into the reading block so that more time in the science block can be devoted to exploration, testing hypotheses etc.

Lisa Marks Lisa Marks 875 Points