Forums

Forums / New Teachers / communicate with parents

New Teachers

communicate with parents

Author Post
Lili Zheng lili zheng 2510 Points

Hi everyone I am a teacher candidate. I wondered How to communicate with parents when their child is challenge students?

Corrie Armstrong Corrie Armstrong 490 Points

I am currently in a teaching credential program, and one of our teachers always tells us to communicate with the principal to describe the situation that is occurring in the classroom. It is good to have the principal on your side or knowledgeable of the situation incase the parent becomes very angry and wants to discuss the problem with the principal. This way the principal will already know about the situation and will not become blind-sided with the information.

ISAURA JEREZ Isaura Jerez 3820 Points

Is always hard to let a parent know that a their child is a difficult student,but it is essential for you as a teacher to communicate this to them. You could schedule a parent-teacher conference with the child's parent and start of by letting them know of the positives first,then as the conference progresses, you tell them the situation you have encounter with their child and try to work with them to find a solution to the problem. Remember that communication is the key to success! Good Luck

Lili Zheng Lili Zheng 2510 Points

Thank you so much! those suggestions are really good. Especially the tip "They make a point of finding something good the students are doing and sending home a note to tell the parents about the student's success." Maybe, I can use good note with bad note comes together. This like sandwich method.

Tory Addison Tory Addison 5745 Points