Forums

Forums / Professional Learning / Professional Development

Professional Learning

Professional Development

Author Post
Ashley Claure Ashley Claure 355 Points

I have roughly a year and a half left until I have my teaching degree. I understand how important it is for me to be a competent science teacher, but the amount of information and knowledge I have to acquire is overwhelming! Did any of you teachers feel this way when you were in my position? How can I prepare myself to be a knowledgeable science teacher? It is difficult for me to read a book or an article and feel I have truly learned something. My learning style is very much hands-on, experience oriented. What activities, groups, workshops, etc. should I seek out?

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Ashley,
How exciting that you are just a little over a year away from your goal of becoming a science teacher! Are you planning to teach young children, older elementary or middle school students? Your anxiety over wondering if you will ever be fully prepared is shared by most preservice teachers. You are right! The amount of content, the number of concepts, the pedagogical aspects, etc., can be very overwhelming. I think the NSTA Learning Center resources can really help! The Sci Packs are a great beginning. Just choose one containing content that you feel fairly confident about to start. Go through it, take the assessment, and see if it doesn't 'sharpen' your brain and increase your knowledge for that particular science area. Then go to another Sci Pack.
Another suggestion is to create a professional development portfolio for yourself. The Online Advisors, when they are on Live Support Online, are just waiting for you (or anyone) to click on the Live Support Icon and seek their help in setting up personal professional development plans using the Learning Center resources. Some states include the NSTA PD portfolios and many of the PD activities as legitimate ways to gain state PD credits.