Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Keeping PreTeens Engaged

Evaluation and Assessment

Keeping PreTeens Engaged

Author Post
Brionna Crume Brionna Crume 600 Points

My name is Brionna Crume.  I teach 6th grade Literacy at Faulk Elementary.  I hope to one day be able to teach high school Biology. I have found out that engaging 6th graders has been easier than I thought, my problem comes in with keeping them engaged.  Meaning, sometimes I run out of ideas on what to do to hold their attention.  I feel like I might have an interesting way for a lesson, but by the next lesson, I have trouble coming up with an idea better than the last.  Any suggestions on how to keep the students interested/engaged from lesson to lesson. 

Latayvia Green Latayvia Green 560 Points

Hi Brionna, my name is Latayvia Green. I'm a Masters in Education grad student at Voorhees Univerity. I believe that designing your lesson plans to be interactive, and divers to their learning styles may help. Integrate the use of technology, and hands-on learning. Elaborate on why it's important for them to learn the specific topic that is being taught and have them make real world connections. Instruct beyond the classroom, have them create or design a solution to a problem they are facing locally, or nationally. I hope this helps.

Samantha Stallings Samantha Stallings 1425 Points