Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Approaching Misconceptions

Elementary Science

Approaching Misconceptions

Author Post
Annika Krieg Annika Krieg 80 Points

My name is Annika Krieg and I am a pre-service teacher at Wartburg College in Waverly, IA. In my methods class, we've discussed the importance of explaining and dispeling various misconceptions students may have about Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, and other subjects as well. It is my understanding that misinterpretations of the scientific process, stereotypes of scientists, and many others are the reason why we are seeing less and less interest in science these days. My question of concern is how to approach students' misconceptions using a method which they can understand and relate to. How can I get my students to understand and obtain a significant takeaway? I would greatly appreciate your responses and advice. Sincerely, Annika Krieg Pre-Service Teacher Wartburg College '20

Kennedy Kraus Kennedy Kraus 2515 Points

Hi Annika! I am also a pre-service teacher studying at the University of Northern Iowa. I am also currently taking a Science Methods course and we have touched on misconceptions for students in class. One of the topics that we have been talking a lot about is different phenomena. If we present phenomena to the students, it may show them their misconceptions so they can have a new understanding of the topic. If we physically are showing our students the specific phenomena, it will, hopefully, change many of the students' misconceptions so they are able to develop those new ideas that are scientifically correct. 

Abby Swiatly Abby Swiatly 2085 Points

Hello Annika, my name is Abby and I go to UNI and am an early childhood and elementary education major. We have been learning about misconceptions in my science methods course also. I think that you pose a very important question and would like to see reponses from other people because I am not sure how to answer it myself.