Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Classroom Management

Elementary Science

Classroom Management

Author Post
Hilary De Vos Hilary de Vos 1375 Points

When doing experiements in your classroom, how do keep the class learning and having fun,while still keeping order in the classroom? I really want to encourage collaboration and a lot of inquiry in the classroom, but I'm also afraid that the class can easily get out of hang and off task.

Jame Byron Jame Byron 2275 Points

Already have in a place a concrete classroom management program. Especially, if dealing with older students have the contract they signed earlier in the year and use it to remind them that this is a collaboratively effort, yet not the time for horseplay or socialization. Have zero tolerance for any misbehavior that occurs in the classroom. Hope I helped.

An Nguyen An Nguyen 995 Points

Thank you for posting this! I am a student teacher and I have had the same concerns & worry about the same things. I really want science to be hands on and interactive, but I want it to be structured and productive at the same time. All of the help and resources mentioned are helpful!

Jamie Edgington Jamie Edgington 275 Points

I agree with what others said, having a good classroom management system in place will help. But also do not get discouraged if the class seems a bit out of hand the first time around. This will take practice and the more you do it, the smoother it will go. I feel this is especially true with the younger students. 

Brandon Ishikata Brandon Ishikata 330 Points

In my graduate level science methods class for teaching credential students, we learned that setting ground rules is key for any experiment. We also learned an assessment called a "gallery walk." When students are giving feedback through post-it notes, we learned that we should give student sentence frames on giving "respectful feedback." This helps students learn to give meaningful feedback without hurting any feelings.