Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / How does creativity and State Exams mix?

Early Childhood

How does creativity and State Exams mix?

Author Post
Kristy Guerra Kristy Guerra 290 Points

Hello, I am currently a University student who is studying Early Childhood Education. I am learning so many ways to foster a classroom full of creativity and hands-on activities. I would like to teach my future students that they have the freedom to learn in their own ways. My question is, how do I encourage creativity and uniqueness and still get my future students to pass State Standardized Exams that have narrow traditional (non-creative) views on what science is.

Rebecca Daniel Rebecca Daniel 55 Points

I think the key is really in using these hands-on experiments to address the topics standardized tests are concerned with, while trying to foster the types of reasoning and scientific thinking that help a student remember familiar topics and navigate those that are unfamiliar. This should assist them in answering those "non-creative" questions.

Rida Rangoonwala Rida Rangoonwala 670 Points