Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Science Projects

Elementary Science

Science Projects

Author Post
Stephanie Torres Stephanie Torres 35 Points

Hello, I am a pre-service teacher and I had one quick question: Are student projects involving eatables a good idea? Will it motivate students or help them loose focus?

Elizabeth Homans Elizabeth Homans 535 Points

I think it depends on the project. If you are doing a chemistry project on how yeast effects bread, then it is appropriate to use food, and even eat it! However, if you are using edibles as models for a cell, sometimes food is not the best representation. I read in this article, "if it is eddible it's not a model. There are traditional “models” in classrooms across the country of which I imagine about 80% are edible. Models that students construct and use for the NGSS classroom are quite different. Students need to use models to explain or predict phenomena using evidence. Most “edible” models do not allow for that experience."

Andrzelika Pedowska Andrzelika Pedowska 980 Points

Hello, Stephanie Using candy for student projects is a great idea! It gets the kids excited for the activity and keeps the engaged. I would definitely recommend using candy but make sure to check for allergies before. Hope you have fun with it. Good Luck, Angie

Hudson Johnston Hudson Johnston 30 Points

Hi, Stephanie It depends on the project. If you are using them as positive reinforcement make sure that you know all allergies, religions, and other health needs of your students. If you are using them as part of a lesson, I would just make sure that it relates. I think that it would be a great idea to help students make connections. Hud 

Wendi Laurence Wendi Laurence 1510 Points