Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Planet Protection Chemistry Labs?

Chemistry

Planet Protection Chemistry Labs?

Author Post
Kyle Yost Kyle Yost 50 Points

I am a new chemistry teacher, and have an end of the year project that I need some help with. I have 3 weeks at the end of the year to complete a capstone project that focuses on protecting the planet. Does anyone have any suggestions/lesson plans on labs that deal with protecting the environment or pollution? I want to have my 3 weeks be very lab intensive, but the only thing I have right now that relates to this is purifying and testing water. Any suggestions would be great, and my student's need all the support you can give! Your input would be much appreciated! Thanks, Kyle Yost

BRYAN SMITH Bryan Smith 310 Points

Kyle, would you be interested in measuring the CO2 concentration in the air? I’ve worked up a gravimetric method that traps the CO2 in diluted sodium hydroxide, then precipitate with barium chloride. In addition to the chemicals, the only at all unusual equipment is a small air pump (like you’d find in a small fish tank) per group. Rolling this lab into a conversation/seminar on global energy systems (reading attached) have been effective and motivating for my students. Let me know if you’d like to hear more. Best, Bryan I am a new chemistry teacher, and have an end of the year project that I need some help with. I have 3 weeks at the end of the year to complete a capstone project that focuses on protecting the planet. Does anyone have any suggestions/lesson plans on labs that deal with protecting the environment or pollution? I want to have my 3 weeks be very lab intensive, but the only thing I have right now that relates to this is purifying and testing water. Any suggestions would be great, and my student's need all the support you can give! Your input would be much appreciated! Thanks, Kyle Yost

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points