Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / How to teach Science and enjoy it as well as

Early Childhood

How to teach Science and enjoy it as well as

Author Post
Hala Bhatti Hala Bhatti 820 Points

Hi, I am currently a Junior at Penn State Harrisburg and majoring in Elementary Education - PreK-4th. I would like to know how I should engage my students 

Itzayanna Lopez Itzayanna Lopez 300 Points

Hi Hala, That is a great question and what I think would work best to enage the student is using thing that ar epopular right now or anything hands on because that is what students like most. 

Jessica Vera Jessica Vera 310 Points

Hi Hala!!

I am a future elementary school teacher, and from what I learned from my professors and classes is that a good way to engage your students can be through their curiosity. For example, you teach math and you randomly bring an object of your choosing that relates to the subject you are teaching. You are captivating their attention because to them it is something new, something they probably have not seen in the classroom before and that piques their interest and curiosity. You therefore then have their attention to further explain the object and its relationship to the lesson you are about to teach. I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any more questions and/or would like to know more. 

Prisma Gonzalez Prisma Gonzalez 400 Points

Hi Hala,

Science is a very important subject for the students to engage in because in this subject the students get to learn better by working on hands-on instruction. In science instead of just reading from the book, it is important to include the students in the lesson and have them work together in groups as they do their science projects, and have them use their creativity and critically think on their own.  

Karina Garcia Karina Garcia 970 Points