Forums

Forums / Informal Science / Incorporating science in a family vacation trip

Informal Science

Incorporating science in a family vacation trip

Author Post
Sac Nicte Garza Sac Nicte Garza 225 Points

How can I as a mother and futre teacher can integrate science to family trips, and then be able to teach my experiences to students?

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

My homeschooling mom friends are amazing at this! For the older kids, they let them take lead. They set out certain objectives, but the older kids choose the path of their learning on the trip. For younger kids, they have more concrete tasks and activities planned out before they go. 

Melissa Biddinger Melissa Biddinger 435 Points

Hi Sac,

I am a preservice teacher, and I am currently taking a course on how to teach science topics to early childhood students.  One of our assigned readings for the class is called The Sense of Wonder by Rachel Carson.  Her poetic and elegant writing is combined with beautiful nature images and photographs where one of the main messages she tries to send to readers is to enjoy the simplicity of nature and experience it with all of your senses.  This idea can most certainly be applied to family vacations.