Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Seating Charts

New Teachers

Seating Charts

Author Post
Jannah Fitch Jannah Fitch 380 Points

I'm a new student teacher and a new NSTA member and I'm implementing a new seating chart at my student teaching assignment. The students are in 7th and 8th grade. My mentor teacher usually has the students draw numbers to assign them to numbered table groups. I'm wondering how experienced teachers handle seating charts. Do you group them based on ability? Do you let them choose their own seats? How does having a specific type of seating chart facilitate what happens in your classroom?

Erin Williams Erin Williams 985 Points

When creating a seating chart I think it is important to create heterogeneous groups with your students. If you put all of the high performing students at one table and the low performing students at another, they will know who you consider "smart" or "dumb". Using a random system can be beneficial. I would recommend using cards. Have each student draw a card and depending on the card, that is their group. But, switch up how the playing cards are used. You can organize groups by numbers, colors, hearts and diamonds, spades and clubs, it's up to you. This will also stop students from switching cards as they will not know how you organize the groups. I hope this helped you. Good luck!

Kelsey Ettleman Kelsey Ettleman 3729 Points