Forums

Forums / Professional Learning / Classroom Management

Professional Learning

Classroom Management

Author Post
Laregilon Hughes Laregilon Hughes 975 Points

Hello everyone, my name is Laregilon Hughes. I am a student teacher at the University of Houston. I recently did an interactive lesson about scarcity and the kids loved it, but they seemed to yell at one another while trading items. What are some ways in which you set the expectations prior to an activity?

Kelly White Kelly White 1170 Points

Hi There Larrgilon, My name is Kelly and I actually live and teach in Houston so I thought I would reply. First, great idea to get the kids moving. Part of the reason they were squirrelly is that they probably are not use to moving around in there other classes so they only equate learning with fun time not learning. So to smooth the waters a bit model for them how you expect them to act, pull in a few students as helpers and show them the right and wrong ways to participate in your lesson. You could also tell them by the end of this lesson I expect you to be able to answer xyz, give them some reasons for why they are doing what they are doing. My 2 cents. If you have more questions please let me know. Kelly

Kayla Adair Kayla Adair 680 Points

To piggy back off of what Kelly said, in the classroom I student teach in we use CHAMPS. Before every activity or even if you forget to do it before you can do it in the middle when they start to go crazy, but this helps to develop an instructional structure in which students are responsible, motivated, and highly engaged in the specific task at hand. It actually works very well. When they begin to get out of hand you can remind them of what being successful looks like. You can even ask them to show you what it looks like when they are getting out of hand.

Breanna Varley Breanna Varley 1125 Points