Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Use the textbook a lot?

Elementary Science

Use the textbook a lot?

Author Post
Elaine Thomas Elaine Thomas 1525 Points

I am a pre professional teacher and am curious to know if teachers utilize the textbook a lot during the class session for facts or do teacher refer the children to the textbook for further clarification?

Kimberly Glover Kimberly Glover 1815 Points

I teach 5th grade science. We don't use textbooks at all. We use STEMscopes exclusively.

Virginia Harris Virginia Harris 935 Points

I teach 5th grade science and we hardly ever use the textbook. I use power points, podcast, and lots of interactive resources. The textbook is for some vocabulary and some times I will use the chapter test as weekly assessments. I think I would use the textbook more if it were up to date but as of now we are using the same textbook my daughter used when she was 5th grade, guess what, she is in her last year of her master's program.

Debbie Pentecost Deborah Pentecost 6238 Points

I assign the textbook for homework reading. I don't use it in class. I use interactives, research projects, inquiry, video clips from discovery education and other sources, and modeling activities in class. There are some features of our textbook, like interactive powerpoint lessons, simulated labs, etc, that I use in class.

Brandon Ishikata Brandon Ishikata 330 Points

In the school district I am in, the textbooks are not updated and aligned with NGSS. With that in mind, we do not use the textbooks on a constant basis. My teacher has mentioned to me that he copies pages from science textbooks so the amount of pages does not overwhelm the students.

Erin Jasso Erin Jasso 380 Points

We use the textbook just to skim and scan and find interesting pictures and charts. The actual learning is done through short passages followed by a worksheet or activity to further understanding. The textbook is mainly just for pictures.