Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Getting Students Interested in STEM

General Science and Teaching

Getting Students Interested in STEM

Author Post
Abby Lynn Abby Lynn 80 Points

I am a preservice teacher in my third year at Wartburg College. Throughout my time working with students so far, I have noticed that students are having lower confidence levels when it comes to STEM. How would you encourage these students and show them that they are excelling in STEM?

Abby McKee

-Preservice Teacher

Shontell Davis Shontell Davis 2175 Points

Hi Abby

I teach in Louisiana. I tell my students that FAILURE = SUCCESS! I have it posted on my board. I tell my students that I expect them to fail first when working on STEM activities especially. I have found that they are more willing to participate when I elaborate on the 'why it didnt't work' than 'it didn't work'! Besure to celebrate the mistakes. I teach in a low income school, so confidence building is my mind job most days. Hope this helps!

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

First off, tell your students that it took 400,000 highly-trained engineers, scientists and technicians 9 years to launch Apollo 11 to the moon.  LOTS of failures along the way.  So, they can cut themselves a bit of slack!

I think that one of the worst things we do is say, 'OK, we're doing something different!  We're going to do STEM!' If a student conducts a lab, gathers data (perhaps with the help of a probe, camera, measuring device), summarizes the data in a graph, writes a report or makes a poster that discusses the results, comes to a conclusion and reflects on the process to suggest improvements - they have just done STEM.

I think the newest and likely most foreign aspect of STEM is introducing engineering design process. Perhaps later in the course they design and perhaps create a structure, a prototype machine or a set of procedures and reflect on their results - they have now done a little more engineering.